Bravi tutti!

A tip o’ the hat and a rib-cracking virtual hug to my friend and college classmate Martin for posting this video on Facebook.  If you’re not aware of the whole concept of a “flash mob,” then this is as good an introduction as any.  What I love about this video is that they’ve done such a great job of capturing the faces of the unsuspecting people who were treated to this event.  Imagine, there you are, a tourist taking in the cacophony of sights and smells of the Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia, PA, and an opera breaks out.  Or maybe you’re a regular shopper there, making your routine visit to pick up your favorite Italian groceries, or freshly ground horseradish, and suddenly a large man next to you begins to sing in a booming voice, from a famous scene in “La Traviata.”

My reactions to this sort of thing are layered.  I am amazed and exhilarated that people think these things up and then pull them off.  I almost always wish I had been there to see it.  One of the many reasons I love the Internet is that if I wasn’t there to see something like this, I can still watch it over and over again.  Somewhere in the layers of my reaction to this one is, “Man, what must it be like to walk around in this world knowing that you can make that kind of sound with your voice?  That must be SO cool.”

So, Emmanuel Music, how about a flash mob in the Boston area?  Faneuil Hall?   That mall over in the Prudential Center?

7 responses to “Bravi tutti!

  1. Well, blush. Honesty compels me to say that I didn’t find this myself; the daughter of one of my fellow All Saints’ choir members posted it first. And go easy on the ribs, ‘kay?

  2. I’ll be smiling for the rest of the day, thanks Joy!

  3. Kurt Hausheer

    I had not heard of this until now. I enjoyed it and thank you for posting this!

  4. That much happy sound has got to make the planet better. Sure made my part of the planet better!

  5. Ellen Pemberton

    Love it, love it, love it! And now I have a delightful aria in my head for the rest of this day. Thank you Joy! I’m enjoying your blog.

  6. !!!
    That flash mob video just made my day…no my week…my month…possibly my year. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

