Exclamation Point Shortage Imperils Holiday Punctuation

At noon yesterday I gleefully accepted an offer to join the staff of one of the big research hospitals in Boston as a Communications Officer. I even used the words “I gleefully accept!” when they called to make the offer. The bad news is that I’m pretty sure this has resulted in a shortage of exclamation points worldwide. Between the ones I have used in emails and on Facebook, and the ones that have come back to me in various replies and comments, I worry that my peeps and I have gluttonously consumed far more than our fair share of these now rare commodities at a critical time of year.

If you waited until now to write or print your holiday letter, I apologize if your news about your family’s good looking women, strong men, and above average children lies flat and lifeless on the page because my pals and I hogged all the exclamation points. Better luck next year. Happy holidays [insert multiple exclamation points here]

14 responses to “Exclamation Point Shortage Imperils Holiday Punctuation

  1. Well done on that job, miss. Very good and exciting news with which to close out 2010 !! Heh…uh…I have no idea where those came from because while I am an exclamation point hog, I am no exclamation point hoarder. Nope, not me!! Whoops, what I meant to say is that oh, those are my friend’s exclamation points. No idea how they ended up in my comment. No siree…

  2. i have been saving up my “crooked line”posts for a couple of weeks as a “merry christmas to me” so looks like we BOTH have something to look foward to.
    i’m so happy for you with your new job. it sounds like a perfect fit. i have several friends who lost their jobs a couple of years ago and still have nothing, despite their searches. your tenacity, personal strength, writing and people skills, wit, charm and lovely smile have served you well. and now, they’ll serve others. must be a great feeling. happy everything! i love it when good things happen to deserving people!

  3. Congratulations! That’s fantastic news!! And the beautiful thing about exclamation points is that there are always enough!!!

  4. I carelessly blew my allotment of exclamation points commenting on your Facebook post proclaiming your new-found employment. I will now have to get thru the remainder of the holidays typing with muted punctuation. But I’d gladly do it again, getting a real job after not having one is worth it right? Good for you & Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Kwanzaa & Happy New Year. That sure would have felt/looked better with even one exclamation point.

  5. i bet joy, that exclamation points behave much like numbers – just when you think you ran out, just add 1! (you see! you see again! and again!…)

  6. Good lord, what will the Spanish do about the beginning of their sentences of exclamation?!?!? I’m for squandering them early and often, just as we vote in Massachusetts. Yours is by far the best news of the shortest, darkest day of the year. Wonder when this site will cut me off if I start exclamationing now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Words canot express my happiness at your neews.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I made many new exclamation marks in my shop the moment I heard the news. There are plenty to go around now. No worries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Joy, warm congratulations from Minnesota as well. (I’m Emilia Allen’s mom, and she clued me in to your blog a couple of weeks ago when she linked something she loved. I’ve been quietly enjoying it since.) I’m so delighted to hear you’ve found a wonderful job. Under the 28 inches of snow we’ve had here in December I found a bunch of lost exclamation points. So here they are – a little cold and brittle perhaps, but celebrating your good news nonetheless!!!!!! Happy holidays and happy new year to you and your family!

  9. I think we need to add some^%&*()_+%$#@! new wonderful symbols (that is not a substitute for swearing. I am so !@#$%^&*()_+ happy about your new job that exclamations seem trite. You will make a FANTASTO+IC contribution. By the way, Dr. Jonas shares our delight in your new job. Even though he is grieving over Connie’s continual downhill slide, he smiled and rejoices that you’ll be connected to his favorite hospital in the whole world. What a great way to start a new year. We rejoice, rejoice, rejoice. (I think that’s a lyric to some hymn. Mom
    {S: Happy Christmas (could it be otherwise.? We love you and your tribe soooo much.)

  10. YAAAAY! (My mom lent me that one.)

  11. Susie Martin-Wilson

    Joy, I am so happy for you. I know it must of been a struggle. They will be so lucky to have you. I have heard good things about the hospital you are going to work at. I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2011. Love ya, Susie

  12. So glad you got the job that you wanted it is the one we talked about it when I was in Boston wasn’t it? How wonderful. I know your friend Susan Turner Lowe can give you hints about being communications director as she has done that for many years. Looks like Santa came early for everyone. xxoo to and yours and Merry Christmas too!

  13. Congratulations, Joy! You are the most deserving usurper of exclamitory punctuation I can imagine! Happiest of New Years to you and the fam!

  14. Pingback: What happens to a dream deferred? | The Crooked Line

Leave a Reply

