Undamned – Over the Rhine with Lucinda Williams

This song stopped me in my tracks the first time I heard it. The different textures of the two voices, combined with the lyrics, is, hmm, how could I describe it? Have you ever scrubbed your skin with salt, and then washed off the salt and scrubbed it with cornmeal? It’s like that. It’s invigorating, and it makes your skin glowy and radiant. This song makes me feel like that inside, every time I hear it.

In the video, the guitarist paraphrases a G.K. Chesterton quote about how we need priests to remind us that we’ll die someday, and we need different kinds of priests, poets, and singers to remind us that we’re still alive. I’m lucky enough to be married to that kind of priest, and to know those kinds of poets (I even have some of them in my family!), and to hear music from singers like these.

Sometimes all we believe
Turns out to be just a scam
Just trying to get my world
Get it undamned

It’s been my lifelong song
Who’ll take me Just As I Am
Help me to get my world
Get it undamned

I’ve got a thousand lost songs
(Far too many they just got away)
I’ve done a thousand things wrong
(Far too many for me to name)
But I’m not too far gone
To fall
Headlong
Into the arms that love me

Don’t count me out just yet
I’m not your little lost lamb
God might still get my world
Get it undamned

I’ve got a thousand lost songs
(Far too many they just got away)
I’ve done a thousand things wrong
(Far too many for me to name)
But I’m not too far gone
To fall
Headlong
Into the arms that love me

I’ve got a thousand lost songs
(Far too many they just got away)
I’ve done a thousand things wrong
(Far too many for me to name)
But I’m not too far gone
To fall
Headlong
Into the arms that love me

But I’m not too far gone
To fall
Headlong…

One response to “Undamned – Over the Rhine with Lucinda Williams

  1. I’m so glad you posted this clip. Over the Rhine just turned up on one of my Pandora stations this morning. I’ve heard of them, but hadn’t heard them before (Lucinda Williams I’ve loved for years). A gorgeous song.

Leave a Reply

