“Open Arms” by Elbow

The chorus of this song has been in my head all day.

You’re a law unto yourself
And we don’t suffer dreamers
But neither should you walk the earth alone

So with finger rolls and folding chairs
And a volley of streamers
We can be there for tweaks and repairs
Should you come back home

We got open arms for broken hearts
Like yours my boy, come home again

Tables are for pounding here
And when we’ve got you surrounded
The man you are will know the boy you were

And you’re not the man who fell to earth
You’re the man of La Mancha
And we’ve love enough to light the street
‘Cause everybody’s here

We got open arms for broken hearts
Like yours my boy, come home again
We got open arms for broken hearts
Like yours my boy, come home again

Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
The moon is out looking for trouble
And everyone’s here

Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
The moon wants a scrap or a cuddle
And everyone’s here

We got open arms for broken hearts
Like yours my boy, come home again
We got open arms for broken hearts
Like yours my boy, come home again

Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
Come home again

The moon is out looking for trouble
The moon wants a scrap or a cuddle
The moon is face down in a puddle
And everyone’s here

3 responses to ““Open Arms” by Elbow

  1. Did I mention how much I’m enjoying your Lenten music posts? I really like this song and am glad to meet a new (to me) band.

    • Thank you, Ms. Spy! I first heard of this band via Peter Gabriel’s “Scratch My Back” project, where he covered a song of another artist(s) he admires and they covered one of his. Ugh. Bad grammar there, but whatever. For that project, Gabriel covered Elbow’s song “Mirrorball,” which is as gorgeous and lush a love song as there is. Their version of the song, which I would never have heard were it not for Peter Gabriel, gives me layer upon layer of goosebumps every time. Unlike a lot of videos out there, this one really captures the magic of the song, I think. The oboe near the end slays me:

      “Mirrorball” Lyrics:

      I plant the kind of kiss that wouldn’t wake a baby
      On the self-same face that wouldn’t let me sleep
      And the street is singing with my feet
      And dawn gives me a shadow I know to be taller

      All down to you, dear
      Everything has changed

      My sorry name has made it to graffiti
      I was looking for someone to complete me

      Not anymore, dear
      Everything has changed

      And we made the moon our mirrorball
      The streets, an empty stage
      The city sirens violins
      Everything has changed

      So lift off love
      Lift off love

      We took the town to town last night
      We kissed like we invented it
      And now I know what every step is for
      To lead me to your door

      Know that while you sleep
      Everything has changed

      We made the moon our mirrorball
      The streets, an empty stage
      The city sirens violins
      Everything has changed
      Everything has changed
      Everything has changed

      So lift off love
      Lift off love (down to you, dear)
      Lift off love (down to you, dear)
      Lift off love (down to you, dear)
      Lift off love (down to you, dear)
      Lift off love (down to you, dear)

  2. I, too, have enjoyed you Lenten Psongs. “Mirrorball” is especially beautiful. Thank you for your Psalm/Psong posts which have certainly enhanced my pre-Easter season.

Leave a Reply

