Psalm/Psong for March 28 – “If I Needed You” by Carrie Rodriguez and Ben Kyle

This Townes Van Zandt psalm/psong is timeless, and so dang good that it’s hard to imagine someone ruining it. I stumbled across this version when I found myself wandering around looking for whether Carrie Rodriguez had come out with anything new recently.

Voila! She made an album of duets with some dude named Ben Kyle. I first listened to it while trudging across the tundra of the Public Garden and Boston Common. On several of the songs, I snuck a look around to see if anyone was near me, and seeing no one, I sang along loudly. I rarely give into that temptation, and I experience it a lot, but something about these songs was just irresistible. You try listening to the bouncy, swingy “Fire Alarm” without singing along. Or two-stepping. I dare you.  But first listen to this lovely psalm/psong.

One response to “Psalm/Psong for March 28 – “If I Needed You” by Carrie Rodriguez and Ben Kyle

Leave a Reply

