Psalm/Psong for March 30 – “Give Me the Wonder” by Johnny Clegg

I took the opportunity of being away from home for college to stop going to church. Well, I stopped going to church IN CHURCH. I did my worshipping at the local record store, and my priest was the owner of the store. I went to that store at least once a week, and sometimes several times a week. The guy who owned the store always had something for my thirsty ears.

Thanks to Facebook, and my old pal Greg, I got reminded of one of the musical treats that I was introduced to in that record store church: Johnny Clegg and his band Juluka. These were a bunch of South African singers and musicians, across racial and tribal spectrums, who were singing against apartheid as early as the late 1970s.

Greg recently saw Johnny Clegg in concert. His band is no longer called Juluka (or Savuka, another one of his ensembles), but he’s still out there making music and touring, which is amazing to me. I dug around looking for some of Johnny Clegg’s new music and found a perfect psalm/psong: “Give Me the Wonder.” Thanks for reconnecting me with this music, Greg.

Lyrics for “Give Me the Wonder”:

GIVE ME THE WONDER

Tell  me new  words
And break this thirst
Sing me iron songs
Let me be strong
Give me right
Give me wrong
So I know where I belong
Give me dark give me light
So you dance in my sight

CHORUS:

In the dark night of the soul
I will never be alone
I will always find my way home
Give me the wonder of life
Give me the wonder of love
GIVE ME THE LIGHT
GIVE ME THE NIGHT

Tell me new words
And break this thirst
Sing me iron songs
Let me be strong
Give me life
Give me death
Give me night
Give me breath
Give me down
Give me up and fill my cup

CHORUS

Leave a Reply

