Psalm/Psong for March 31 – “Überlin” by R.E.M

When I went into labor with GForce, I got admitted into the hospital a lot earlier than I probably should have. My contractions never really varied from being 3-5 minutes apart, so I immediately rejected the idea of cleaning the house during my early labor (something the Lamaze teacher suggested). The fact that I went into labor at 2:30 am also dissuaded me from firing up the vacuum cleaner.

My partner at the time, D, and our friend STL who was our labor coach/photographer, and I headed over to the hospital early that morning, after the sun came up. We were equipped to party. I have a distinct memory of a moment in the afternoon, after I got my first shot of narcotics to help me cope with the pain: I was reading the sports page, D and STL were playing cards (I think), and we were blasting R.E.M.’s album “Monster.”

The midwife walked in the room and said, “Oh no no NO! We have work to do here, girls!” The sports page and the cards were the first to go, but I remember we clung to R.E.M.’s loud, raucous “Monster” songs as long as we could. “Monster” was how I felt by my ninth month of pregnancy, and while I was in labor, and so “Monster” it was.

I’m just getting familiar with R.E.M.’s new album “Collapse Into Now.” I love the imagery of the song “Überlin.” When I found this video, I knew this had to be a Psalm/Psong for Lent. I love how this guy dances his way through the streets of Berlin: part awkward, part acrobat, a kind of goofy grace. And the final move he does at the end seems just perfect for this liturgical season, though I doubt we’ll see it in any processions at Emmanuel. However, I’m a torchbearer for Palm Sunday, so you never know!

They won’t let me embed the “official video” but I encourage you to click through and watch it on YouTube. Good song, curious little movie interpretation.

Lyrics to Überlin:

hey now make your breakfast
hey now comb your hair and off to work
crash land no illusions no collision no intrusion
my imagination run away

i know i know i know what i am chasing
i know i know i know that this is changing me
i am flying on a star into a meteor tonight
i am flying on a star
i will make it through the day and then the day becomes the night
i will make it through the night

hey now take the u-bahn
5 stop change the station
hey now don’t forget that change will save you
hey now count a thousand million people
that’s astounding chasing
through the city with their stars on bright

i know i know i know what i am chasing
i know i know i know that this is changing me
i am flying on a star into a meteor tonight
i am flying on a star
i will make it through the day and then the day becomes the night
i will make it through the night

i don’t mind repeating i am not complete
i have never been the gifted type
hey man tell me something are you off to somewhere?
do you want to go with me tonight?

i know i know i know that this is changing
we’ll walk the street to feel the ground i’m chasing
uBerlin
i am flying on a star into a meteor tonight
i am flying on a star
i will make it through the day and then the day becomes the night
i will make it through the night

Read More: http://monsterlyrics.blogspot.com/2011/01/uberlin-lyrics-rem.html#ixzz1IUuCNBF3

Leave a Reply

