Psalm/Psong for April 11 – “Dig a Little Deeper” by Peter Bjorn and John

The sound of this song reminds me of the bubble gum pop of my youth (before I got into the band Yes). The feel of this song provokes memories watching The Partridge Family show on TV, with that Mondrian-esque school bus they drove around in.

What makes “Dig a Little Deeper” a psong for me, though, is the way they’ve matched this giddy, almost goofy, melody and rhythm with the exhortation: “All art is contemporary. Dig a little deeper.” When I imagine this psong being sung BY whatever it is that is divine in the universe TO us scuttling, scrabbling humans (as I do with most music as a way of trying it on), it gives this psong both a humor and a depth that really appeals to me.

Lyrics to “Dig a Little Deeper”:

Oh-oh, oh-oh [a bunch of times]

You think you’ve got it made
I’m trying to have some fun
You think you know it all
I’ve only just begun
You’re sliding on the surface
I’m reaching for the bottom
The past is always present
The future fades away
And if you think your brain is hollow
You just have to scream
And dig a little deeper.

All art has been contemporary
Dig a little deeper, dig a little deeper

You enjoy the silence
When I want to discuss
You like to keep it tidy
I wanna mess it up
I defy definition
Of what’s supposed to be
I don’t want recognition
If you don’t recognize me
And if you think your brain is hollow
You just have to scream
And dig a little deeper.

All art has been contemporary
Dig a little deeper, dig a little deeper

Oh-oh, oh-oh [a bunch of times]

Leave a Reply

