Psalm/Psong for April 13 – “Sweet Spot” by Antje Duvekot

Antje Duvekot’s voice first came to me through the car radio. I was driving along one of the river roads that bends along the Charles, and since there was no place to pull over, I clung to the steering wheel, riveted, while she sang “Dandelion” to me.

It’s challenging for an artist’s body of work to compete with a moment like that. Certainly not every song of hers has gripped me like “Dandelion” did when I first heard it, nor has “Dandelion” been able to stop my world every time I’ve heard it since that particular day.

Still, moments like that one in the car are what make my ears so curious. I never really know what the next psalm/psong will be that will completely alter my molecular structure. While “Sweet Spot” hasn’t done exactly that, it is a lovely psong, and perfect for my Lenten exercise this year. I do, in fact, find myself in one such sweet spot, and I’m grateful that there’s been more than one over the course of my life, with more to come, I hope. They haven’t all looked like this, but I think she nails it with the line “by the time you hit the surface/It has rearranged you.”

This video features her singing it accompanied by Meg Hutchinson and Natalia Zuckerman. They sometimes perform together under the moniker “Winterbloom.”

Lyrics to “Sweet Spot”:

Once you stood below a mountain
Now you find yourself surprised
This is the sweet spot of your life
‘Cause this new view compares to nothing
Gone the hardship of your climb
This is the sweet spot of your life

And it would seem the ice is melting
It seems you’ve come in from the cold
This is the sweet spot of your life
And all your streams they are now fuller
Than what their riverbanks can hold
This is the sweet spot of your life

So you must hold these days like treasures
In a jewel box in your heart
This is the sweet spot of your life
For you know well they are most precious
Into an old tree you must carve them
This is the sweet spot of your life

May it only sting a moment
When you dive into that blue
This is the sweet spot of your life
‘Cause by the time you hit the surface
It has rearranged you
This is the sweet spot of your life

You always wanted something solid
Just one solid thing
Oh but angels are so fickle
They only love you when you sing
But you don’t need those fickle angels to shine
This is the sweet spot of your life

Once you stood below a mountain
Now you find yourself surprised
This is the sweet spot of your life
‘Cause this new view compares to nothing
Gone the hardships of your climb
This is the sweet spot of your life

May it only sting a moment
When you dive into that blue
This is the sweet spot of your life
‘Cause by the time you hit the surface
It has rearranged you
This is the sweet spot
This is the sweet spot
This is the sweet spot of your life
This is the sweet spot
This is the sweet spot
This is the sweet spot of your life

One response to “Psalm/Psong for April 13 – “Sweet Spot” by Antje Duvekot

  1. Beautiful..I love those “grip the steering wheel” moments. I had one about a year ago when I heard Suzy Bogguss’s “Far and Away” while listening to Prairie Home Companion. I had another while listening to a Sunday morning blues show, but was so blown away I neglected to note the name of the song, for which I still kick myself!

    I am so grateful for your eclectic taste in music, which requires so much more patience than I have!

    oxox

Leave a Reply

