Psalm/Psong for April 14 – “The Water’s Edge” by k.d. lang

Oh, how I love the nubby texture of a devoted Tibetan Buddhist singing about angels, heaven, baptism, being born again, and the River Jordan. In my experience, Christians require frequent reminders that our symbols, icons, customs, and language are part of a stream of Universal human longing: for clarity as well as mystery, for certainty as well as ambiguity, for answers as well as questions, etc.

I have always been awestruck by k.d. lang’s voice. Even as she threw herself wildly around the concert stage in her younger days, she always had a vocal control that was stunning. The acrobatics have given way to a profound vocal maturity. I really think she could sing in any style she wanted to.

As a former swimmer, and someone whose baptism was of the full-immersion variety (complete with water up my nose), the last line of the chorus of this psong is a goosebumper.

Lyrics to “The Water’s Edge”:

Love was ours, it tasted sweet
Like cherries in the summer heat, love so sweet
You’re the one that I adored
Yeah, you and I were moving forward
A breeze then gently brushed my lips
I held my breath to capture it, then we kissed
With an angel by my side
I was sure I’d died and gone to heaven

Take me back to the water’s edge
Lay me down on that riverbed
Take me down to the water’s edge
Hold me under for the longest human breath

Never had I known a thrill
The world was simply standing still
In your arms I’m born again
And we are floating down that River Jordan

Take me back to the water’s edge
Lay me down on that riverbed
Take me down to the water’s edge
Hold me under for the longest human breath

Take me back to the water’s edge
Lay me down on that riverbed
Take me down to the water’s edge
Hold me under for the longest human breath
Hold me under for the longest human breath

4 responses to “Psalm/Psong for April 14 – “The Water’s Edge” by k.d. lang

  1. Now you’re talking. I like what you wrote, but mostly I love that you have k.d. lang as one of the many singers profiled during the lenten season. She’s been a favorite of mine for many years. I think she equals Roy Orbison’s version of “Crying.”

  2. You are so sweet. No that’s not right. You are so correct!!!!

  3. excellent choice! there’s no one like k.d. and there’s nothing like baptism. so, there you have it.

Leave a Reply

