Psalm/Psong for 4/17 – “Truth” by Ruthie Foster

Ruthie Foster ought to be a lot more widely known than she is. To celebrate Palm Sunday (two days late), here’s a great version of her psong “Truth,” from her 2009 album “The Truth According to Ruthie Foster.” It makes the cut for my Lenten project because I only caught up to this record last week. The extra special treat in the video is getting to hear Robben Ford burning up the guitar. I envy anyone who saw this show.

Lyrics to “Truth”:

Somebody asked me
What it really mean to be true
Somebody tell me
Tell me what it mean to you

You can’t find it in a TV screen
You can’t read it in a book no
You won’t see it in the future
No matter how hard you look ya’ll

You know truth ain’t hard to hide
You know truth sitting deep inside
And that truth can make you change your mind
You don’t have to go far
Truth is right where you are

Somebody asked me
What it really mean to be true
Somebody tell me
Tell me what it mean to you

You can’t find it in the government ya’ll
And look for it in the courthouse too
You try to speak it in the cell phone
Waiting to hear it on the radio news

You can’t find it in a whisper
You can’t find it in a shout no
You can’t find it in a schoolyard
They sing about it in the church house

I said truth
Ain’t hard to hide
You know truth
Somewhere deep inside
You know truth
Make you change your mind
And truth
It may be in disguise
You don’t have to go far
Truth is right where you are

Got to got to got to got to got to got to got to
Got to have a little truth now
Little truth now
How bout a little bit of
How bout a little bit of
Just a little bit of truth now
Somebody somebody somebody tell me
truth
can’t hide it
truth
can’t fight it no

Leave a Reply

