Psalm/Psong for 4/18 – “The World (Is Going Up In Flames)” by Charles Bradley

It seems to me that every day of the week between Palm Sunday and Easter should get its own name. Churchier folk than I probably already know them, but since I don’t, I’m going to make them up. The question is, do I go with a theme related to the palm tree, or to the palm of the hand? Maybe I’ll alternate. So, for my newly christened Slippery Elm Monday, you’re in for a treat: Charles Bradley.

How could I never have heard of Charles Bradley before last week? Maybe he’s in the same corner of the musical universe as Ruthie Foster, and I only fell into it last week (though I’ve been a fan of Ruthie Foster’s for a long time). I’ve never been to SXSW, but I love the idea of having a concert in a bicycle shop. For a second there, I thought Charles Bradley was going to hop on one of those bikes and ride it around while he sang. He looks like he’d be able to pull it off.

Lyrics to “The World (Is Going Up In Flames)”:

This world is going up in flames
And nobody wants to take the blame
Don’t tell me how to live my life
When you never felt the pain

Oh, oh, oh, ooh, come on, baby
Ooh, they don’t see me cryin’
Ooh, they don’t hear me tryin’
Ooh, they don’t see me cryin’ so what I’m gonna do?
Yeah, baby

I can’t turn my head away, seein’ all these things
The world is going up in flames
And nobody wants to take the blame
Is it you? Or you? You? Or you?
Me? Or me?

Ooh, they don’t see me cryin’
Ooh, they don’t see me tryin’
Ooh, so stop all that lyin’
You killin’ me

Oh baby, come on baby
Let’s get it right
Let’s make this world a brighter day
For you and me
Come on now
Come on
Come on yeah
Come on people
Come on
Oh, ow, ooooo

One response to “Psalm/Psong for 4/18 – “The World (Is Going Up In Flames)” by Charles Bradley

  1. I’ve never heard of him either, but I’ll definitely be looking for more. I’m a sucker for a brass section.

Leave a Reply

