Two poems for Sunday from Hafiz

For a While

We have all come to the right place.
We all sit in God’s classroom.

Now,
The only thing left for us to do, my dear,

Is to stop
Throwing spitballs for a while.

Someone Should Start Laughing

I have a thousand brilliant lies
For the question:

How are you?

I have a thousand brilliant lies
For the question:

What is God?

If you think that the Truth can be known
From words,

If you think that the Sun and the Ocean

Can pass through that tiny opening
Called the mouth,

O someone should start laughing!

Someone should start wildly Laughing–
Now!

6 responses to “Two poems for Sunday from Hafiz

  1. Ok, I am laughing! Wildly!

  2. Lovely (and for me, timely). Thank you.

  3. jaylyn olivo

    I’m not done throwing spitballs. In fact, I’ve hardly started. And sitting in God’s classroom this morning listening to PW preach, I decided that was probably okay. Love you, love the poems. Thanks. JO [Also laughing, early and often!]

    • Remind me not to sit in front of you in church! (:

      Happy travelling this week. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures. Love you. J

Leave a Reply

